Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Boxing Day Bonanza at Goodwill

On Boxing Day (December 26th) we took a trip down to Marysville, Washington to partake of the Golden Coral "All You Care to Eat" buffet.  It was amazing as always. If you have never been to a Golden Coral, and you have one within driving distance (our closest one is about 1 1/2 hour drive), you have to check it out. After lunch, we driving around checking out various malls and stores. Along the way we found two Goodwill stores where they are having a 50% everything sale, which meant that 99 cent records were now 50 cents, and 10 cent cassette tapes were now 5 cents... Yippee!

I came home with 29 LPs and 1 cassette tape, with the bulk of them being Disney albums. My favorites are:
1) Walt Disney Presents Ferede Grofe's Grand Canyon Suite
2) Walt Disney Presents Songs From All Around the World
3) Walt Disney Presents Best of Broadway
4) Walt Disney Presents The Story of Treasure Island
5) Bedknobs and Broomsticks
6) Walt Disney Presents Rudyard Kilpling's Just So Stories (Narrated by Sterling Holloway)
7) Walt Disney's Story and Songs from Pinocchio (Narrated by Jiminy Cricket)
8) Walt Disney Presents the Stories of Hans Christian Anderson
9) Walt Disney Presents Acting Out The ABCs.

Although a few of them are in rough condition, they all had the original LPs inside and once I put them into shinny new record sleeves, they all looked great, and are ready to be added to my collection. Total cost for these 9 LPs was $4.50.

If you would like to check out the other non Disney albums I picked up, check them out over at Ronn's Big Pile of Stuff.

Friday, December 23, 2011

TRON Translucence Ltd Edition 10″ Vinyl

I just saw this tonght while surfing the net looking for Disney albums...

Daft Punk – Translucence is a limited edition 4-track vinyl 10" record released on Record Store Day, April 16th 2011. Translucence features 3 tracks from Daft Punk’s soundtrack for Tron: Legacy.  The 4th track, Castor, was previously only available on the special edition bonus CD. The translucent vinyl features the design of the Tron: Legacy Identity Disk and will be available in 3 colours; orange, blue and yellow.

I have contacted a few online record shops in hopes of getting a 'blue' one for my record collection!